Home ] Up ]

Counties in Ireland: Antrim | Armagh | Carlow | Cavan | Clare | Cork | Donegal | Down | Dublin | Fermanagh | Galway | Kerry | Kildare | Kilkenny | Laois | Leitrim | Leix | Limerick | Londonderry | Longford | Louth | Mayo | Meath | Monaghan | Offaly | Roscommon | Sligo | Tipperary | Tyrone | Waterford | Westmeath | Wexford | Wicklow


Landowners in Co. Armagh, circa 1870s


Some Common Armagh Surnames

Among the most common surnames in Armagh are Murphy, Hughes, Wilson, Campbell, O'Hare, Smith, McCann, Donnelly, Watson and Quinn.

The main towns in County Armagh include Armagh City, Loughgall, Tynan, Portadown, Lurgan and Derrynoose.

Emigration from County Armagh

Emigrants from Armagh have settled the world over from Pennsylvania in the U.S.A. to Ballarat in Australia. The county was severely hit by the Great Famine. Numerous workhouses and hospitals were constructed to help the sick and destitute. Large numbers of people emigrated at that time.

Main Towns

Armagh City is also known as the Ecclesiastical capital of Ireland because it is home to the heads of the Church of Ireland and Catholic churches in Ireland. The main towns are Markethill, Tandragee, Loughgall, Richhill, Keady, Newtownhamilton, Portadown and Lurgan.

Famous Places

The City of Armagh hosts two Cathedrals, the St. Patrick's Trian Visitor Centre, Archbishop's Palace and the Palace Stables Heritage Centre, Navan, the famous Robinson Library, Observatory and Planetarium. For those with genealogical interests you will be spoilt for choice with our own research library, the County Museum, the Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum, and Irish Reference Library.

Outside the City there is Gosford Forest Park, The National Trust properties of Ardress and Argory, Keady Mill, Tassagh Viaduct and the Tayto Castle now a crisp factory. These are only a few of the many other hidden jewels you will find in County Armagh.